The Four Elements in Astrology

Understanding Astrological elements Can Help you Learn More About Your Strengths

a composite image of women depicting fire, earth, air, and water

According to Cosmic Navigator by Gahl Sasson, sailors rely on the compass with four directions on the sea, cosmic navigators use the astrology compass with four elements.

In zodiac, there are four elements:

  • Fire: the impulse to begin something or make that happen. It is the dominating force for Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. 
  • Water: the need to establish an emotional bridge and be surrounded by happy things. It is the hallmark of Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. 
  • Air: the urge to communicate and intellectual exchange. It fuels the signs of Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. 
  • Earth: the desire to make an impulse a reality, or the sensual feelings like touch or smell. It underlies the signs of Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. 

For example, if you kiss your spouse, the physical touch of the kiss represents the earth's power, the thoughts appear in your mind show the wind’s power, the attraction to your spouse is the fire’s power, and the deepest emotions that you hide inside underlies the water’s power. 

Let’s explore more information about those enchanted elements. If you want to know more about the zodiac, please visit Unlocking Moon Sign Meanings.

Two fire people kiss
Fire signs are characterized by their enthusiasm. Image courtesy of Gioia Albano.

Fire Signs

Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius

“Feeling like a boss, and

Staring at the Stars, it

Doesn’t matter the cost, ‘cause

Everybody wants to be famous.” -------Superorganism, Everybody Wants To Be Famous.

The element of fire shows radiant energy, an energy that has upbeat and enthusiastic qualities. This energy comes spontaneously in a self-motivated way. Marc Edmund Jones once said, people who have a strong fire sign tend to have “experiences centered in personal identity”.  People who are dominated by fire signs tend to give others the impression of being impersonal and self-centered. Luckily, people who have a strong fire element power also have an unending strength, a direct honesty, and a childlike simplicity. They can express themselves freely, sometimes this quality is endearing to people, sometimes people think it is too offensive, especially to those who are sensitive. Therefore, the fire signs are normally with less patience with those people who get caught up in the subtle details in life. Every fire sign has a talented gift of how to inspire others  in different ways. Aries could kindle the world through being a warrior or a pioneer; Leo could show others light through their humor, loyalty, and a golden heart; Sagittarius could inspire others but aiming for thing’s greatest potential. They are the most beautiful stars in the sky. 

a woman underwater
Fire signs are characterized by their enthusiasm. Image courtesy of Gioia Albano.

Water Signs

Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces

“And you said

‘This is the first day of my life
I’m glad I didn’t die before I met you

But now I don’t care, I would go anywhere with you

And I’d probably be happy’.” --------Bright Eyes, First Day Of My Life


The water element powers take on lots of forms: a mizzle of rain, a still pond, or a raging sea. Without water, there would be no life. People who have water signs in their charts usually are more reserved and downbeat. Emotion is very important to them, and they can sense others’ feelings and emotions easily. Moreover, they could absorb others’ emotions naturally and unconsciously as well, therefore, they are very empathetic. In the worst moment, those sensible people could be overwhelmed by an emotional flood, so they need to pay attention to not be too sensible, irrational or over-protective sometimes.  Overall, they are all concerned with belonging. Cancer is more focused on the family; Scorpio emphases the intimate relationship; Pisces is more concentrated on the spiritual unity with the universe. They are the most lovable dreamboats. 

A women with a blonde hair in the wind
The element air’s power exists in the wind and the breath. Image courtesy of Zodiac Love.

Air Signs

Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius 

“I’m done with being a chill girl

I’m trying to take over the world!

Don’t tell me to calm down!

I know

what I want.”--------Diet Cig, Link in Bio


Air can’t stand still in one moment, and it can go anywhere. Without air, there’s no sound or speech, and people can’t communicate because of the vibration transmitted by air. Air signs have a strong need to communicate with others and need to be communicated with, so that’s the reason why relationships are important to the air signs. Air signs usually have good social skills, and they know how to talk to people in a way which won’t get others ruffled, and they definitely won’t be clingy and needy, unlike the water signs can be. Normally, they are rational and objective, and they would like to see things in the long run. They understand others’ ideas easily, and they are probably the most civilized signs among the four elements. With Gemini, having an efficient conversation is a vital thing; with Libra, keeping balance inside and outside is important; with Aquarius, keeping their unique thoughts shows who they are. They are a group of cool kids. 

earth goddess hold the earth
Earth's mother has the earth element power. Image courtesy of Herbalist Amanda Furbee.

Earth Signs

Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn

“Hey I’ve got news, I’m not doin’ too bad

Even though sometimes I might get real mad

You’re talkin’ to me like a child

But my words are growin’ stronger

And my legs keep gettin’ longer.”--------The Regrettes, Seashore


Usually, Earth signs are more practical, reliable and dependable. They are more concerned with the real world’s here-and-now instead of future possibilities and illusions. Taurus and Capricorn have the desire to create something tangible, Virgo too, but with their mutable quality, they are more like sand instead of the earth. All of them know the importance of supplying basic needs, persisting a goal, and making a living since they were born. They know how to fit into this world naturally. Although they are introverts like water signs, they stand out when their practical interests are being taken or damaged. They use a matter-of-fact way to get what they need and make sure that their fruits of labor won’t be taken from others. However, if they rely on and pay attention to realistic benefits too much, they will probably become the ones with a narrow outlook and with a limited imagination. All in all, they are the working bees who would create their legends. 

Last but not least, if you want to know more about the four elements, please take a look at Zodiac Element Meanings

Ava Sun

Ava Sun is a professional writer, digital media art designer, and an astrology and tarot fan living in Pittsburgh, PA.
See All Posts >>

You Might Also Like...