Learn the Different Chakras by Their Image

Did you know that our body has seven chakras through which our energy flows through?

 According to Merriam-Webster, a chakra is “any of several points of physical or spiritual energy in the human body according to yoga philosophy.” To put it simply, chakras are the basis of our human existence. Each one regulates a specific body part and emotion. Learn more about your spiritual and physical self in this introduction to chakras.

  • A Brief History of Chakras
  • Each Chakra and its Image
  • How to Nurture Each Chakra

A Brief History of Chakras

“Chakra” is actually Sanskrit for “wheel,” — a fitting translation considering that chakras are often represented as spinning wheels of energy. The earliest record of chakras dates back between 1500 and 500 B.C. in a text called the Vedas. They have also been found in the Shri Jabala Darshana Upanishad, the Cudamini Unpanishad, the Yoga-Shikka Upanishad and the Shandilya Upanishad.

However, chakras weren’t introduced to the West until the early 20th century by Sir John Woodroffe.

Each Chakra and its Image

chakra image

Meet the seven chakras. We will go through each one of them starting at the base of the body with the root chakra.

Root - 1st

  • Red
  • Located at the based of your spine
  • Responsible for grounding and your survival instincts

Sacral - 2nd

  • Orange
  • Found in your lower abdomen
  • Oversees sexuality, intuition, and self-worth

Solar Plexus - 3rd

  • Yellow
  • Situated in your upper abdomen
  • Related to impulse control

Heart - 4th

  • Green
  • Unsurprisingly found in the center of your chest
  • Governs compassion and spirituality

Throat - 5th

  • Blue
  • Located at the throat
  • Oversees communication and emotion

Third Eye - 6th

  • Purple
  • Located between the eyes
  • Related to rationality, wisdom, and imagination

Crown - 7th

  • Indigo
  • Situated on top of the head
  • Connection with the Divine

How to Nurture Each Chakra

Ensuring a balanced chakra requires you to take care of both your mental and physical health. Neither an overactive or an underactive chakra is healthy. Pay attention to your body. Have you had trouble concentrating lately? Is your throat troubling you? Your body is telling you that it is experiencing an imbalance.

Try some of these methods to help put your chakras back in balance:

  • Conscious breathing
  • Yoga
  • Aromatherapy
  • Meditation
  • Healing stones

Taking care of your body is a vital step to leading a healthy and happy life. And being informed of how your chakras influence your body will definitely help you in this endeavor.

Charlotte Couch

Charlotte is a Pittsburgh-based writer.
See All Posts >>

You Might Also Like...