A Beginner’s Guide to Balancing Chakras

A Crash Course in Chakras from Root to Crown for the Absolute Beginner

In order for our bodies to function at their 100% best, it is vital that we have our chakras aligned. Performing a balancing act between all 7 distinct chakras is the only way to insure a smooth flow of energy through the body. If even one chakra is misaligned, the entire system is disrupted. 

However, contrary to popular belief, you need not be an expert to balance your chakras!

Still a beginner to the world of chakras? A great place to start is a crash course on understanding where your various chakras are located and the negative consequences of having them be misaligned. 

1. Muladhara - The Root Chakra

Location: Bottom of the Spine/Tailbone

Why it needs to be aligned: The Root Chakra is responsible for your own feelings of confidence. When it is aligned and working well, you will feel a sense of security, calm, and a grounding in reality. When it is misaligned, however, this confidence gives way to feels of panic, anxiety, even going so far as edging into hypochondria and paranoia. While these emotional symptoms may also be compounded with physical pain at the location of the chakra in the lower back, you can find plenty of ways to unblock and align your Root Chakra

2. Svadhishthara - The Sacral Chakra

Location: Mid-abdomen, just below the naval

Why it needs to be aligned: The Sacral Chakra is responsible for managing creative energy and motivation including, but not limited to, artistic and imaginative pursuits as well as sexual endeavors. A misaligned Sacral Chakra can result in feelings of boredom, lack of creative inspiration in addition to a lowered sex drive and a resistance to change. Often the result of dissatisfaction with a romantic or sexual relationship, there are plenty of ways to help pull this chakra back into alignment. 

3. Manipura - The Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: Upper Abdomen

Why it needs to be aligned: The Solar Plexus Chakra is in charge of managing your feelings of self esteem and personal security as well as autonomy and determination. When this chakra is thrown out of balance, you may experience some digestive issues as well as feelings of insecurity and low self-esteem, though there are plenty of easy remedies for guiding yourself back into alignment, some as easy as drinking chamomile tea. 

4. Anahata - The Heart Chakra

Location: Directly above the heart

Why it needs to be aligned: As you might’ve guessed, the Heart Chakra is directly intertwined with our ability and capacity to give and accept love and compassion in all its varied forms. When aligned, the Heart Chakra allows us to not only be empathetic to others, but also grants us with a higher level of emotional awareness in all endeavors. Events such as a break-up or grief following the death of a loved one can pull the heart chakra out of alignment leading to struggles relating to others, lowered levels of compassion, and general impatience, though these negative symptoms can be reversed with simple meditation techniques

Gathering green gems such as Malachite, Jade, and Adventurine can help to realign your heart chakra in a pinch! Image Courtesy of Pinterest

5. Vishuddha -  The Throat Chakra

Location: Middle of the Throat

Why it needs to be aligned: The Throat Chakra is directly responsible for your ability to express yourself in the most authentica way possible. This encompasses everything from confidence in expressing yourself verbally to emotionl honesty with yourself and with others. A blocked or misaligned Throat Chakra, potentially caused by something such as a bad argument, can lead to the inability to express yourself and say what you really want to say resulting in dishonesty. Lapus Lazuli and other gems can help to guide this chakra back into alignment. 

6. Ajna - The Third Eye Chakra

Location: The Center of the Brow

Why it needs to be aligned: In order for you to be able to recognize your space in the grand scheme of the Universe at large, it is vital that you have an aligned and open Third Eye Chakra. This sixth chakra is in charge of guiding intuition and the ability to trust your gut. A closed Third Eye Chakra can result in struggles with faith and recognizing a broader purpose for yourself  as well as a feeling of general insignificance in the Universe. Luckily there are plenty of ways to dissuade these symptoms, as well as other physical ailments, such as headaches and migraines, that often accompany a misaligned Third Eye Chakra. 

7. Sahasvara - The Crown Chakra

Location: The Top of the Head

Why it needs to be aligned: This highest and final chakra is directly related to your levels of spiritual connectivity. A properly aligned Crown Chakra will allow you to experience and recognize beauty, not only in your own life, but in the world more generally, equating with feelings of general and sustained happiness and profound joy. A traumatic life experience, however, can dislodge this chakra, resulting in an inability to see beauty in yourself and the world as well as increased levels of depression. Try eating ginger and violet foods as well as dozens of other techniques to realign your Crown Chakra!

Having a set of properly balanced chakras is the best way to not only be certain that your body is functioning and performing at the highest level possible, but also to ensure that you are living your life in a state of mental, emotional, and spiritual peace as well. There are many methods to aligning chakras, including crystal therapy, meditation and yoga, special diets, and mantra meditation, so no matter which of your chakras is feeling a little out of synch, you can rest assured that you have an abundance of ways to work towards restoring yourself to your best self in no time! 

Ethan Moser

Ethan Moser is a Pittsburgh-based writer.
See All Posts >>

You Might Also Like...