15 Affirmations to Unblock Your Sacral Chakra

How you can open up your sacral chakra and reap the benefits

diagram of chakras and the organs and traits associated with them

Main image courtesy of Chakras Info.

The concept of chakras originated in India and is mentioned in ancient texts of religious and spiritual knowledge such as the Vedas. Although they’ve recently reemerged in popularity, chakras are, and have been a firm part of Hindu, Buddhist, and other eastern beliefs, dating back to 1500 to 1000 BC. Translated from Sanskrit, chakra means “wheel,” and refers to specific energy points at different parts of your body, such as your head or chest. 

When your chakras are open, aligned, and unblocked, they are able to play a role in positively regulating your emotional, physical, and psychological well being. 

While some sources say that there are a whopping 114 chakras, there are 7 main ones: root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye, and crown chakra. 

About the Sacral Chakra

illustration of sacral chakra symbol
The sacral chakra deals with your connection to yourself and your inner thoughts, feelings, and desires. Image courtesy of Into the Well.

The sacral chakra is the second chakra and is located below your navel near where your perineum (between your thighs) is. It is linked to your kidneys and sex organs. It is associated with the element of water and the color orange. 

The sacral chakra is said to play a role in your sexuality, pleasure, and emotions. An overactive sacral chakra can present itself as inappropriate sexual expressions, obsessive, unreciprocated affection, and emotional instability. You may feel isolated, anxious, and lonely if your root chakra is blocked. 

You can help to balance and heal your root chakra through affirmations. 

What are affirmations?

person writing in notebook with a pen
Lots of people decide to write their affirmations out to visually implement them into their lives. Image courtesy of CNN.

To affirm something is to confirm that it is true, and affirmations aim to do exactly that. Affirmations typically take the form of “I” statements such as “I am brave” or “I am worthy.” They aim to encourage confidence, growth, reflection, and positive thinking by reminding you of your incredible qualities and all you have to offer the world and people around you. 

You can easily add affirmations to your daily meditation practice(s). Regardless of what time you meditate or how long you do it for, you can incorporate these affirmations into your day and give yourself a boost of healing. 

If you’re new to meditation, don’t worry! It’s easy to get started, and with time and patience, you’ll see yourself growing and improving. There are so many guided meditation apps, online meditation guides, books, and podcasts that can help you take the first plunge. Fully clearing your mind can be difficult, so don’t be too hard on yourself. It takes a lot of discipline and self-control to really focus, but you’ll get there!

Sacral Chakra Affirmations

illustration of woman meditating
Affirmations are a wonderful practice to complement your meditation sessions. Image courtesy of Everyday Health.

Chakras are a core part of many ancient eastern philosophies, and it’s important to understand that they have a lot of history and significance to communities around the world. Incorporating and embracing the idea of chakras means that you have to embrace and understand the cultures and people from where chakras originated from. There are so many resources out there to help you better understand these ideologies and ensure that you’re treating them, and the cultures they come from, with respect and value. 

No matter how much you learn, always be humble. These practices have been passed down for generations, and there are plenty of experts out there who you can learn so much from. Don’t speak over the voices of those who have been abiding by these ideals for generations, and be culturally aware and sensitive. Don’t culturally appropriate. Take the time to learn about what it is you’re really practicing, and always be thoughtful and appreciative of these ideas, as well as the communities that they are from.

When it comes to chakras, it is important to remember that these ideas are deeply rooted. You can incorporate sacral chakra affirmations into your regular meditation sessions by repeating them out loud, or writing them down over and over again in a journal of some sort. You could also type them out on your phone, laptop, or other device. Below are some affirmations to help align your sacral chakra:

  1. I trust my feelings and I trust myself. 
  2. My emotions are balanced. 
  3. I am comfortable in my body. 
  4. I embrace and celebrate my sexuality.
  5. I feel peace within myself. 
  6. I allow my creativity to flow through me freely.
  7. I let go of past feelings that no longer serve me. 
  8. I am a loveable and desirable human being.
  9. I deserve to receive and feel pleasure. 
  10. I attract like-minded people who love me for who I am.

Balancing your sacral chakra is all about accepting yourself for who you are and allowing yourself to be creative, expressive, and authentic with those around you. 

In addition to affirmations, you can also use essential oils such as sandalwood and jasmine oil by adding them to your baths or applying them directly to your skin after deleting them with a carrier oil. You can also use crystals and stones to heal your chakra and incorporate them into your meditation practice. Working with citrine and autumn jasper can be beneficial.

Don’t forget that affirmations take plenty of time, patience, dedication, and effort before you’ll really see the difference. It won’t happen overnight, but if you stay consistent, it’ll work!

Aarushi Pant

Aarushi Pant is a writer, animal lover, and activist.
See All Posts >>

You Might Also Like...